W.I.P Part II

I have a hard time regulating negative emotions. I catasrophise things. Not always, but if enough little things don’t go my way it doesn’t take much to tip the balance of being “ok” to feeling like the world is going to end. A rational mind would tell me, “it’s ok, things happen, we can’t control everything and everyone!” but it’s my emotional mind that screams “nothing is ok, everything is doomed, and I’m going to run a video through your head of every bad moment in relation to this problem or person to prove this, so you can make an idiot of your adult self (e.g. Overreact)”. 

I’ve not long realised just how much, in the past, I’ve had to have things go “my way”. In my mind I’m not to blame – why can’t others just be reasonable when what I want is the best option?! When I’m thinking rationally and calmly I can see this is illogical, I can apologise and see all perspectives (even if I think/know mine was right!). With emotions clouding this rationality, well, there is no rationality. I cannot “snap out of it”. My mind will either a) run its course or b) somehow be untriggered, usually by appeasement.

So this is where I’m at right now, this is what I’ve come up with off the top of my head, before I go in to depth (I’m blogging as I go for myself and incase it happens to help anyone else or they provide insights 😃)

WHAT ARE NEGATIVE EMOTIONS?


WHAT ARE MY TRIGGERS? (I think a lot more of these can be “linked together” or are possibly the same thing?)


And this is the ultimate question; HOW TO REGULATE?



This has been oddly satisfying thus far 😊

This entry was published on August 6, 2016 at 3:53 AM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “W.I.P Part II

  1. Diagrams. I love diagrams!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This field was intentionally left blank on said:

    Omg I love this! The visuals are especially helpful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 😊 I’ll upload the next lot soon, it’s starting to make a lot more sense to me, there’s a few patterns emerging, I’m no scientist/psychologist by any means but whatever helps can’t be a bad thing to look in to 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The fight response. – A is for …

Leave a Reply

