Sharing the (good) news.

I thought I would share here what I shared with one side of my family – we have a “group chat” on Facebook so I posted it to all of them at once.

“Ok so I’m guessing the cat is out of the bag for most of you, yes, like [my ex], I’ve been diagnosed with Aspergers which is technically now known as Autism. So, I am Autistic! What it means is that I process things differently to non-Autistic people (AKA neurotypical/allistic people), my brain is literally wired differently and it has been since birth. Intellectually I’m gifted, emotionally I’m delayed, so now I know for a smart person why I do dumb things and struggle with certain “easy” things like instinctively knowing left from right. My assessment psychologist suggested that I may have Dyscalculia (basically dyslexia in maths) and Alexithymia (basically trouble recognising/labelling emotions). It’s easy for me to understand as I have been reading obsessively about it for the past two months and it all “fit”, so this is just confirmation and validation of what I basically knew. I’m still me, just a more self-aware and self-knowledgable version, and what a relief that is! Just thought I’d share, happy to answer questions especially if they quell the stereotypes/stigma that sometimes follows an “Autism” diagnosis. πŸ˜ƒ love you all ❀️❀️”

I had heard my diagnosis was discussed at a family get together on the weekend which I didn’t attend, which is fine, but I wanted to have my say. From what I heard was said the general consensus was “wouldn’t have picked that” and “I don’t get it”. The couple of replies to my message just confirmed their love for me. My concern now is that I will be “treated differently” instead of just “feeling different” – BUT I am loaded with information, I am not ashamed or embarrassed, and whilst there is a possibility this concern *might* materialise I plan to call it out and educate. The ironic part is the amount of them I can see traits in! But, I’ve decided I will keep that to myself, because for whatever reason some people just don’t want to know. I guess it’s generational ignorance in my familys’ case. But it’s not their fault as such, as there would have been no reason for them to look in to it, and Autistic “stereotypes” they wouldn’t relate themselves to. Oh well! Onwards and upwards! πŸ˜ƒβ€οΈ

This entry was published on July 31, 2016 at 11:28 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “Sharing the (good) news.

  1. This field was intentionally left blank on said:

    I’m so, so happy for you!! Congrats! <3. In reality, your story is inspiring me to make plans to do the same thing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations, Aimz! ❀ I did the same thing with my family πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. πŸ™‚

    I was wondering, what does “wouldn’t have picked that” mean in that context?

    Liked by 1 person

    • They wouldn’t have ever thought that I was Autistic, I’ve hidden it pretty well, even from myself until a couple of months ago! Basically, they need an education πŸ˜‰πŸ˜Š

      Like

  4. Brilliantly radiant picture πŸ™‚
    As for being treated differently, if they want to pamper you a bit after all you’ve gone through, being more aware of you in a different manner, let them do it while you enjoy the moment. You ARE different, and that’s the beauty of it… And beauty deserves attention, isn’t it πŸ™‚
    Take care πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • They’re not the pampering type lol which is ok, because I’m not the type to be pampered lol πŸ˜ƒ but I’m not going to hide myself, I am going to be unapologetically me 😊
      Thank you LoT, you too!

      Like

  5. That’s a great message and awesome to hear that they responded so positively also! Have they asked you many questions & how have you found answering them if they have asked you? Have you shared any resources with them to help them understand or are you just leaving it to their terms? Just curious to know how you are approaching the disclosure and to whom. I have that to come!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haven’t asked me any questions actually lol. I have ordered Tony Attwood’s book about Aspergers as suggested by a friend to give to my Dad, he’s a reader and I want him to understand. I did send an email to my old boss about it and she was very supportive, glad I had found the answer and said for however complex I’d been she loves me anyway ☺️. I feel like I’ve put it out there now to the people I care the most about, I’m happy to answer questions, but I’m not going to force feed them information. If I genuinely can’t do something now I have an explanation (not an excuse) and can use that to educate. I’m more focused on myself and my son, and working out what is best for us, and trying to unlearn the neurotypical rules that have stressed me in the past not being able to live up to them and living life on my own terms with this new self knowledge 😊 well, that’s the plan, it’s all still very new, I’m just at peace in life at the moment and enjoying that feeling πŸ˜ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

