Assessment result!

The verdict is in – Aspergers confirmed! (Or Autism, technically)

How do I feel? Relieved. Validated. Happy!

Why happy? Because I have a whole new sense of self. Today I felt a real sense of freedom in my self to be myself. Nothing has changed but everything has changed. I have an answer to the question of who I am. I have a list of strengths and challenges to work with and work on. 

I’m leaving this as a short blog post, but will update this blog as I learn about myself in this new chapter of life! The highs and lows, thanks for all the support along the way and comments – appreciate them all!

Also, I couldn’t recommend Tania Marshall more if I tried. If you are looking to be assessed – honestly, she is brilliant and very thorough. 

 https://taniaannmarshall.wordpress.com/2013/03/26/moving-towards-a-female-profile-the-unique-characteristics-abilities-and-talents-of-asperwomen-adult-women-with-asperger-syndrome/

This entry was published on July 29, 2016 at 8:39 AM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

36 thoughts on “Assessment result!

  1. Congratulations! Goodbye to uncertainty πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Congratulations! It’s such a good feeling to reach that new level of understanding. And in my case to have someone finally believe me πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Congratulations, Aimz! πŸ™‚ So happy that you found some answers. Much love, Chris ❀

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Congratulations lovely. Good luck on your new chapter ❀️❀️❀️

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Full face picture, much, much better. The whole You πŸ˜‡

    Liked by 3 people

    • Yes!! πŸ˜ƒ A lot of the confusion has disappeared lol only early days, but I am at peace at the moment about it 😊

      Liked by 2 people

      • Make the moment a lifestyle πŸ˜‡

        Liked by 3 people

      • That’s the master plan πŸ™πŸ™ŒπŸ˜ƒ

        Liked by 2 people

      • Amen to that πŸ™‚
        btw I’m having my Dyslexia screening next week, as it turns out I’ve been struggling with it, without ever being able to relate to it, probably because some of the very obvious signs such as swapping “cat” for “cot” etc., were masked by my autistic brain’s extreme detail awareness. But lo and behold, all the other features in the test I took, seem to indicate at least a “mild” dyslexia…
        Yay πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 2 people

      • Wow, that’s really interesting! Especially the masking bit!

        Tania mentioned dyscalculia to me, which is basically the maths version of dyslexia, and that makes so much sense as to why I have issues with left/right etc.

        Good luck with your screening – ahh, all these answers to issues, a bigger self understanding and awareness, it’s so good! Finally!! πŸ˜ƒ let me know how you get on!

        Liked by 2 people

      • I’ll let you know of course of outcomes, as I’ll probably write a post about the correlations between dyslexia/calculia and ASD. I’ve probably got dyscalculia problems as well, which will probably come up in the screening, but interesting enough these are all partially masked by ASD specifics. I’m also writing a research paper on another correlation, ASD and Anxiety/Depression, but I first have to submit it, and after it’s evaluated, I’ll summarise it online.
        Take good care, and enjoy your more complete awareness, you’ve earned it πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

      • Oh! Definitely looking forward to your future posts! πŸ˜ƒ Thank you, I will 😊

        Liked by 2 people

      • And one more interesting detail that came up from your previous reply…
        I always had BIG problems with maths skills, but never bothered (again, like with many other things) with considering Dyscalculia. But since you’ve mentioned it, I went on the British Dyslexia Association and I found an article on Dyscalculia. And guess what? If the dyslexia screening test was revealing, the dyscalculia article’s signs were even more…
        So next week when I’ll go for screening, I’ll ask for a dyscalculia diagnosis referral too, if they are not done together anyway.
        Thanks again for mentioning it πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

      • Oh great! Glad I could be of assistance without realising it lol. Have a look at “twice exceptional” adults too if you haven’t already, you might find it interesting 😊 again, looking forward to reading the results 😊

        Liked by 2 people

      • Wow, 2e, never in my life have I heard of itπŸ˜‡ I always new I’m from another planet, and I had a sneaking suspicion of being a misunderstood genius of sorts, but now I have proof … Now how are we supposed to stay humble anymore? I guess if I’ve been humble for half century, I just can be proud for the next? Thanks again Amy, you’re a star🌟

        Liked by 2 people

      • Haha! Yes, my psychologist said I’m gifted with a learning disability – twice exceptional! Doesn’t sound too bad at all lol. I have no idea about the humble bit, I guess the NT’s will keep us in line lol. Proud is a great start 😊 you’re welcome! πŸ˜ƒ

        Liked by 2 people

  6. Howdy Amy!

    I was wondering about this earlier today and found a chance to look it up. I’m glad to hear it. I’m not sure what it changes for you, but it gives you a community and places to look for ideas. I’m thinking it is a big relief for you.

    All the best!
    Jack

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hey Jack, it doesn’t change anything in particular, maybe it relieves a lot of the negative burdens and misunderstandings I’ve carried, because I have an explanation. Definitely a relief 😊 thanks for your comment and checking in!
      Cheers,
      Amy 😊

      Liked by 2 people

      • As it turns out, you’re not crazy! What a relief and now to understand your life better. It was such a relief for me. I’m still re-interpreting events in my life.

        Huzzah!
        Jack

        Liked by 2 people

      • Nope, just wired differently! πŸ˜ƒ Wouldn’t change it either, probably would have liked to know earlier but can’t change the past so I’m looking forward to the future armed with this knowledge about myself πŸ˜ƒ it’s all a process 😊
        Amy

        Liked by 2 people

  7. Congratulations! You are an inspiration to me. An aspieration if you will πŸ˜‹

    Liked by 2 people

    • Aww thank you! ☺️ Haha very clever! I was lucky to find lots of “aspierations” that helped me on my journey, so I am more than happy to help you in any way I can with yours ❀️

      Liked by 2 people

  8. This field was intentionally left blank on said:

    Congratulations!! One chapter closed as another opens. Here’s to your true identity! Cheers ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I know how it feels congrats

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

